Isaiah 46:3-10 (NIV)

3 “Listen1 to me, O house of Jacob, all you who remain2 of the house of Israel, you whom I have upheld since you were conceived,3 and have carried4 since your birth.5 4 Even to your old age and gray hairs6 I am he,7 I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain8 you and I will rescue you. 5 “To whom will you compare me or count me equal? To whom will you liken me that we may be compared?9  Some pour out gold from their bags and weigh out silver on the scales; they hire a goldsmith10 to make it into a god, and they bow down and worship it.11 7 They lift it to their shoulders and carry12 it; they set it up in its place, and there it stands. From that spot it cannot move.13 Though one cries out to it, it does not answer;14 it cannot save15 him from his troubles. 8 “Remember16 this, fix it in mind, take it to heart, you rebels.17 9 Remember the former things,18 those of long ago;19 I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me.20 10 I make known the end from the beginning,21 from ancient times,22 what is still to come.23 I say: My purpose will stand,24 and I will do all that I please.

Isaiah 46:3 (NIV)

3 “Listen1 to me, O house of Jacob, all you who remain2 of the house of Israel, you whom I have upheld since you were conceived,3 and have carried4 since your birth.5                            

DEVOTION – Olive Lois Fisher (Kentucky)

This year my oldest child graduates from high school, and I am not ready to let her go.  Despite reminding myself that this is a natural and necessary part of life, I have been struggling to hide my bittersweet feelings behind a brave and smiling face.

Today I looked out my window to see an empty bird’s nest above my front porch.  A month or so ago, I had watched the mother bird build the nest.  She diligently sat on her eggs through the cold rains and winds of early spring.  Just last week, I saw three baby chirping there, waiting to be fed.  Now the nest stood empty.  When did they leave?  Where did the time go?  How quickly they flew away?

I realize that as my daughter is preparing to leave home we have some similar feelings.  Like my daughter, I feel as if I, too, am flying right now on wings that are a bit shaky and uncertain.  Yet, as I look to God, I am reassured that neither of us faces the unknown alone.  In Isaiah, we are reminded that God has carried us from birth, and will continue to carry and sustain us even into old age.  In knowing this promise I find I am ready to let my daughter go after all.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God carries us every moment of our life’s journey.

PRAYER: Dear God, thank you for your promise never to leave us.  Because you hold us close, give us the courage to let go when we need to.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: GRADUTES AND THEIR FAMILIES

