Mark 1:9-13 (NIV)

9 At that time Jesus came from Nazareth1 in Galilee and was baptized by John2 in the Jordan. 10 As Jesus was coming up out of the water, he saw heaven being torn open and the Spirit descending on him like a dove.3 11 And a voice came from heaven: “You are my Son,4 whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”5 12 At once the Spirit sent him out into the desert, 13 and he was in the desert forty days,6 being tempted by Satan.7 He was with the wild animals, and angels attended him.

Psalm 149:4 (NIV)

4 For the LORD takes delight1 in his people; he crowns the humble with salvation.2                            

DEVOTION – Justin Farrell (Washington)

Even when my dad struggled with alcohol addition, he made it clear to me that he loved me and was proud of me.  Sadly, some people never hear encouraging words from their fathers.  They feel a huge void because the one man in the world whom they want to please the most isn’t there for them.

After Jesus was baptized and emerged from the water, he heard a voice from heaven saying, “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased” (Mark 1:11). Then the Spirit sent him into the wilderness.  He didn’t pack anything; he didn’t say goodbye to anyone.  All he took with him was his Father’s approval and pride.  That was all Jesus needed to endure 40 days of temptation from Satan.

I’m grateful that over time my father achieved sobriety, and we’ve had the opportunity to repair the brokenness that kept us apart.  But regardless of our relationships with our earthly fathers, we have a heavenly Father who can fill all the holes in our lives.  This heavenly Father knows us, loves us, and is well please with us – simply because we are his beloved.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God’s love is more important than any earthly approval.

PRAYER: Heavenly Father, thank you for always loving us.  Help us to see ourselves through your eyes.  In Jesus’ name we pray.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: CHILDREN ESTRANGED FROM THEIR FATHERS

