Ezekiel 36:25-27 (NIV)

25 I will sprinkle1 clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse2 you from all your impurities3 and from all your idols.4

26 I will give you a new heart5 and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone6 and give you a heart of flesh.7 

27 And I will put my Spirit8 in you and move you to follow my decrees9 and be careful to keep my laws.10

Ephesians 2:13 (NIV)

13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ.                            

DEVOTION – Deanne Ruedemann (Texas)

A few years ago I worked as a nurse in a cardiology lab.  Frequently I participated in certain heart procedure for patients who were close to death because of heart disease.  Nothing thrilled me more than to see the miracle of a partially dead heart come back to life when the balloon was inflated to open up a clogged artery.

This sudden rush of blood from the newly opened artery hen enters and revives the dead heart muscle with fresh oxygen.  That dead muscle, which has been more like a stone than a living organ, becomes flesh and is able to pump blood more effectively to the rest of the patient’s body.  In fact, many of those patients would die quickly if their arteries were not reopened.

Seeing lives revived by the introduction of new blood brought to my mine the verse from Leviticus 17:11, “The life of a creature is in the blood . . . it is the blood that makes atonement for one’s life.”  Also when I read in Ezekiel how God will remove our “heart of stone” and give us a “Heart of flesh,” I envision my own heart as having been dead before I accepted Jesus.

I see now how God’s Spirit infused my own heart of stone with the blood of Jesus, bringing me to everlasting life.  My heart is now alive and I have new life, both here on earth and for all eternity with Christ.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: The power of eternal life comes from the blood of Jesus.

PRAYER: Dear Jesus, thank you for reviving our hearts by your Holy Spirit.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: CARDIOVASCULAR SURGEONS

