Luke 12:22-31 (CEB)

22 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Therefore, I say to you, don’t worry about your life, what you will eat, or about your body, what you will wear. 23 There is more to life than food and more to the body than clothing. 24 Consider the ravens: they neither plant nor harvest, they have no silo or barn, yet God feeds them. You are worth so much more than birds! 25 Who among you by worrying can add a single moment to your life?a 26 If you can’t do such a small thing, why worry about the rest?  27 Notice how the lilies grow. They don’t wear themselves out with work, and they don’t spin cloth. But I say to you that even Solomon in all his splendor wasn’t dressed like one of these.  28 If God dresses grass in the field so beautifully, even though it’s alive today and tomorrow it’s thrown into the furnace, how much more will God do for you, you people of weak faith!  29 Don’t chase after what you will eat and what you will drink. Stop worrying.  30 All the nations of the world long for these things. Your Father knows that you need them.  31 Instead, desire his kingdom and these things will be given to you as well.

Matthew 10:31 (CEB)

31 Don’t be afraid. You are worth more than many sparrows.

DEVOTION -Yohana Defrita Rufikasari (Central Java, Indonesia)

One sunny afternoon, I was thinking about my many problems.  Some weeks before, I had sent out job applications with no results.  With no more openings available – and constantly aware that all my friends had good careers – I was feeling depressed and stuck.  Then I looked around and noticed the works of God’s hand right in front of me.  It was a beautiful day.  I looked up to see Mount Sindoro, Mount Sumbing, and even Dieng Plateau, so strong and majestic.  The golden light of sunset warmed my skin.  I heard birds singing, and the cool afternoon breeze made me realize that in spite of my burdens, God had not neglected me.  God was delighting me with little surprises, the recognition of simple wonders I see every day but rarely notice.  And when I saw all God’s creation in front of me, I remembered that Jesus said, “You are worth so much more than birds!” (Luke 12:24).

God lovingly cares for all creation – birds, flowers, mountains, and especially us.  Even though our problems continue, so also does the knowledge that the hand that takes care of birds and flowers is the same hand that takes care of us.  I feel very blesses.  Problems may come and go, but through it all the providence of God sustains us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God’s love is revealed in the wonders of nature.

PRAYER: Dear God, thank you for your love that helps us face our problems without worry and fear.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE OVEWHELMED WITH PROBLEMS

