Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)

28 “Come to me,1 all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.2 

29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,3 for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.4

30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”5

Psalm 91:1 (NIV)

1 He who dwells in the shelter1 of the Most High will rest in the shadow2 of the Almighty.a                            

DEVOTION –  Susan Tedrow (Indiana)

In  my therapeutic massage practice, I see many women who are tired, worn out, sick, hurting, and unable to sleep.  They tell me they have no time for themselves.  They always have things to do and to achieve – meetings, practices, work, housework.  The list is endless.  We put a lot of stress on our bodies when we don’t allow ourselves time to rest and recover, and we tend to ignore the warning signs when we have pushed ourselves too far.

The Bible tells us we are to work, but it also tells us to rest.  We often have a hard time finding a balance between the two.  God commands us to rest. Listening to our bodies’ cries to slow down isn’t easy. However, if we hand over all our cares and worries to God each day and put our focus on God and not on the world around us , we will discover over time that rest becomes easier.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: When we go to God with our daily struggles, we find rest.

PRAYER: Dear God, we give you are cares and worries today. Please be with us as we go about our daily lives and help us to rest. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS:SINGLE MOTHERS  

