Psalm 19:7-11 (NIV)

7 The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul; the decrees of the Lord are sure, making wise the simple;

8 the precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart; the commandment of the Lord is clear, enlightening the eyes;
9 the fear of the Lord is pure, enduring forever; the ordinances of the Lord are true and righteous altogether.
10 More to be desired are they than gold, even much fine gold; sweeter also than honey, and drippings of the honeycomb.
11 Moreover by them is your servant warned; in keeping them there is great reward.

Ezekiel 36:26 (NIV)

26 I will give you a new heart1 and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone2 and give you a heart of flesh.3                            

DEVOTION – Meg Mangan (New South Wales, Australia)

Our garden was created in part to showcase the amazing scents of spring.  It includes violets, lavender, diosma, freesias, and lilac.  This spring, I could see the beauty of these lovely plants and hear the bees busily at work, but I couldn’t enjoy the heady scents of the plants.  As a lingering effect of a particularly difficult bout with bronchitis my sense of smell was compromised.  I felt cut off from fully enjoying this season I love.

The situation made me think about my spiritual life.  At times I feel totally “I tune” with God, and life seems fulfilling and complete.  But at other times I feel more distant from God – as though I am going through the motions rather than being fully alive to God.  That’s when life seems frustrating or dissatisfying.  It’s not that God has moved away from me; it’s that I’ve allowed other things to get in the way of my relationship with God.

When any of us experience such a time and then turn back to God, we don’t need to worry about being given the cold shoulder.  Instead, God is there, with open arms, to welcome us back.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Am I filling my life with God – or something else?

PRAYER: Loving Father, help us to become ever more responsive to you.  May our lives be filled with you – your love – your Spirit, and your goodness. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE WHO FEEL SEPARATED FROM GOD

