1 Corinthians 10:31-11:1 (NIV)

31 So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do everything for the glory of God. 32 Give no offense to Jews or to Greeks or to the church of God, 33 just as I try to please everyone in everything I do, not seeking my own advantage, but that of many, so that they may be saved.                            

1 Corinthians 11:1 (NIV)

1 Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ.

DEVOTION – Mary Ziober (Louisiana)

“Follow me,”  I instructed my son-in-law.  We were headed in separate cars to a restaurant in a part of town he did not know.  As I started down the road, I felt the responsibility to drive slowly. As we made the necessary turns, I was careful to signal well in advance.  I kept a close eye on him in my rearview mirror to confirm that he was following me and did not get off course.  In the end, we all arrived at the restaurant for an enjoyable lunch together.

That day, it occurred to me that believers are changed with the task of being an example for others to follow, leading them to Christ.  As we find ourselves at the market, at work, or at school, our actions are being viewed and evaluated by others.  As we direct our lives toward heaven, we can bring others wit us by living a life that models the life of Jesus Christ.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: If someone’s going to follow me, I want to lead that person to Christ.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, remid us that the actions of our lives show others the way to our destination.  May our actions always direct  them to Christ and his eternal glory in heaven.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: TRAVELERS

