Romans 8:14-17 (NIV)

14 because those who are led by the Spirit of God1 are sons of God.2 15 For you did not receive a spirit3 that makes you a slave again to fear,4 but you received the Spirit of sonship.a And by him we cry, “”Abba,”b Father.”5 16 The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit6 that we are God’s children.7 17 Now if we are children, then we are heirs8–heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings9 in order that we may also share in his glory.10

1 John 3:1 (NIV)

1 How great is the love1 the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!2 And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.3                            

DEVOTION – Norma Hubbard (Mississippi)

Recently my husband and I were shopping in a shore store when a four-year-old girl and her grandmother appeared.  The child looked at me with the happiest smile you can image.  I commented on the small shoebox that she held, and she eagerly showed me her new pink athletic shoes.  After our conversation, the girl took her grandmother’s hand, and they began walking away.  Then the child turned, looked back, and said proudly, “I’m Granny’s girl!”

How proud that little girl was of her new shoes holding them close to her heart!  But it was evident by the expression on her and assurance in her words that her greatest joy was her relationship with her grandmother.

I was reminded of the many scriptures in which God expresses a yearning for a loving relationship with us.  How many of us are as sure of who we are and whose we are as that child was, and how often do we joyously proclaim it to others, even to passing strangers?  For Christians this can be as spontaneous as a child expressing love for her grandmother.  And so I proclaim with all the joyfulness and thankfulness of my heart, “I am God’s child – today and forever!

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: I am God’s child – today and forever.

PRAYER: O God, may we always be proud and eager to tell the world that we are your beloved children.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: GRANDPARENTS AND GRANDCHILDREN

