Psalm 18:1-4, 16 (NIV)

1 I love you, O Lord, my strength. 2 The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my deliverer, my God, my rock in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. 3 I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised, so I shall be saved from my enemies. 4 The cords of death encompassed me; the torrents of perdition assailed me;                            

16 He reached down from on high, he took me; he drew me out of mighty waters.

Psalm 31:2 (NIV)

2 Turn your ear to me,1 come quickly to my rescue;2 be my rock of refuge,3 a strong fortress to save me.

DEVOTION -Sue Carloni (Wisconsin)

I look forward to the weekly Multiple Sclerosis water exercise class.  My friends and I exercise while standing in the water, holding on to the side edge of the pool.

On day there wasn’t room along the edge, so I slowly waded over to hold on to the rope that marked off a lap lane.  I started our fine with leg lifts until I suddenly  got dizzy and lost my balance.  I started flailing, and because the rope provided no sturdy support, I sank under the water.   The instructor jumped in and rescued me and made me promise to hold on the edge of the pool from then on.

That day at the pool I wasn’t able to yell for help as I went under the water.  In the same way, sometimes we aren’t able or are too suborn to call on God for help, but God knows when we need it.  How many times has God held each of us up, whether physically, emotionally, or spiritually, when we were sinking?  God is our rock upon whom we can depend.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: When the waters of life overwhelm us, we can depend on God.

PRAYER: God of all power, you are our rock and strong fortress.  We thank you that we can count on you to rescue us in our times of distress.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: EXCERCISE INSTRUCTORS AND THEIR STUDENTS

