Luke 18:1-6 (NRSV)

1 Then Jesus a told them a parable about their need to pray always and not to lose heart.

×

References for Luke 18:1

  • ā 18:1 – Gk [he]
2 He said, “In a certain city there was a judge who neither feared God nor had respect for people.
3 In that city there was a widow who kept coming to him and saying, “Grant me justice against my opponent.’
4 For a while he refused; but later he said to himself, “Though I have no fear of God and no respect for anyone,
5 yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will grant her justice, so that she may not wear me out by continually coming.’ ” b 
6 And the Lord said, “Listen to what the unjust judge says.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 (NRSV)

17 pray without ceasing,                            

DEVOTION – Phyllis Durante (Hawaii)

My son is in the U.S. Army, stationed overseas.  He usually writes once a month, updating me about his life challenges and successes.  Each time I receive a letter or call, I am so grateful to hear that he is safe and sound.  His happy tone always brings a wave of relief to me.  At one point, five months passed without a word or response to my voicemails, text messages, or letter.  Even though I told myself, “No news is god news,”  I couldn’t help worrying about him.  Every day I prayed, asking God to keep my son safe and to protect and guide him.

When my son called on Mother’s Day, I could not believe the intensity of my happiness and gratitude for that gift.  At that moment, the scene between prodigal son and his father came to life in my heart: “While he was still far off, his father saw him and . . .ran and put his arms around him and kissed him” (Luke 15:20).  I felt tremendous gratitude for the answer to my prayers.  But I am also grateful for the five months of waiting because during those five months of not knowing, my faith in God grew.  Talking with God every day helped me overcome my fear and calmed my spirit.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Like any loving parent, God wants to hear from us.

PRAYER: Dear Gd, thank you for the opportunity to help us grow in faith and love.  Remind us that prayer helps us to build and nurture over our relationship with you.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PARENTS OF THOSE SERVING IN THE MILITARY

