Psalm 139:2-12 (NRSV)

2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from far away.

3 You search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways.
4 Even before a word is on my tongue, O Lord, you know it completely.
5 You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is so high that I cannot attain it.
7 Where can I go from your spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I ascend to heaven, you are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there.
9 If I take the wings of the morning and settle at the farthest limits of the sea,
10 even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light around me become night,”
12 even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is as bright as the day, for darkness is as light to you.

Psalm 139:9 (NRSV)

9 If I take the wings of the morning and settle at the farthest limits of the sea,

10 even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me fast.

DEVOTION – Tim Burleson (South Carolina)

Sadie, our six-month-old black Labrador puppy, has more energy than I do and can run faster than I can.  The other day, she got loose and took off running.  I could not outrun her, so I walked after her.  Sadie led me on a wild-goose chase through our neighborhood.  She kept looking back and changing directions for some 20 minutes as I steadily followed.

Finally Sadie ran into a corner and could not escape me.  So she headed back to me with a look in her eyes that said, “I’m sorry.  Do you still love me?”  I just hooked the leash on Sadie’s collar and rubbed her chin, and together we walked back home.

God’s love is upon us and is pursuing us – wooing us even before we are aware of it and all throughout our lives.  As the apostle Paul put it, “While we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Rom. 5:8, NIV).  I can run from God , and I have on many occasions; yet God still lovingly, patiently pursues me until I run into a corner and come back asking, “Do you still love me?”  God’s answer is always, “Yes.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God always welcomes us back.

PRAYER:Dear Father, thank you for staying close to us even when we wander from you.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE WHO IS WANDERING AWAY FROM GOD

