Joshua 3:1-5 (NRSV)

1 Early in the morning Joshua rose and set out from Shittim with all the Israelites, and they came to the Jordan. They camped there before crossing over.

2 At the end of three days the officers went through the camp
3 and commanded the people, “When you see the ark of the covenant of the Lord your God being carried by the levitical priests, then you shall set out from your place. Follow it,
4 so that you may know the way you should go, for you have not passed this way before. Yet there shall be a space between you and it, a distance of about two thousand cubits; do not come any nearer to it.”
5 Then Joshua said to the people, “Sanctify yourselves; for tomorrow the Lord will do wonders among you.”

Joshua 3:3 (NRSV)

3 and commanded the people, “When you see the ark of the covenant of the Lord your God being carried by the levitical priests, then you shall set out from your place. Follow it,                            

DEVOTION -John Bagdanov (California)

After a wonderful family outing, I was listening t my phone messages and heard an urgent message from the hospital.    “Call the hospital immediately!”  the voice said.  My hands trembled as I dialed the numbers, dreading what I might hear.  The message was that my father had passed away.  I was terrified.  I couldn’t imagine my life without him.  Dad was always there, always providing guidance.  Now he was gone.

Joshua and the Israelites also needed guidance when they were faced with conquering the land of Canaan.  God promised that if they followed the ark, God would lead them.  They followed the ark, and God led them right through the Jordan River to victory in the battle over Jericho.

God’s promise to guide our steps holds true for us today.  If we look to God, we will know the way we should go, the way we should live.  When my father passed away, I didn’t know how to go on with life, but I kept praying and kept reading the Bible, allowing the Holy Spirit to direct my thoughts and actions, one day at a time.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Through prayer and reading scripture, we receive God’s guidance.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, when we don’t know what to do, what to think, or what to say, help us look to your word and trust you to show us the way. Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE WHO HAS LOST TOUCH WITH GOD

