Matthew 5:13-16 (NIV)

13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men.1 14 “You are the light of the world.2 A city on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.3 16 In the same way, let your light shine before men,4 that they may see your good deeds5 and praise6 your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:16 (NIV)

16 In the same way, let your light shine before men,1 that they may see your good deeds2 and praise3 your Father in heaven.                            

DEVOTION – Carolina Maia Faria (Minas Gerais, Brazil)

I have always liked to observe the world around me, especially the tiny things.  I remember one day I noticed marks on the wall that gleamed in the light.  I realized that a slug had passed there.  I did not need to see the slug because its tracks were there as evidence.

I began to reflect on this observation.  I wondered if my spiritual life was as clear to others as the marks left by the slug.  As Christians, we must leave marks of God’s love in our journey.  Our walk must reflect that Jesus is our Savior, showing the love and mercy of Jesus Christ to those around us.  What a wonderful lesson I leaned by observing the tracks of this slug!  Whatever we walk, we can leave the marks of Christians, saved by Jesus Christ.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Does my daily life leave marks that point to Christ?

PRAYER: O God, help us show those around us that we are Christians by sharing your love with the world.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE AFRAID TO BE IDENTIFIED WITH JESUS

