Psalm 27:1-14 (NRSV)

1 The LORD is my light1 and my salvation2— whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold3 of my life– of whom shall I be afraid?4 2 When evil men advance against me to devour my flesh,a when my enemies and my foes attack me, they will stumble and fall.5 3 Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear;6 though war break out against me, even then will I be confident.7 4 One thing8 I ask of the LORD, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life,9 to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple. 5 For in the day of trouble10 he will keep me safe11 in his dwelling; he will hide me12 in the shelter of his tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.13 6 Then my head will be exalted14 above the enemies who surround me;15 at his tabernacle will I sacrifice16 with shouts of joy;17 I will sing18 and make music19 to the LORD. 7 Hear my voice20 when I call, O LORD; be merciful to me and answer me.21 8 My heart says of you, “Seek hisb face!22” Your face, LORD, I will seek. 9 Do not hide your face23 from me, do not turn your servant away in anger;24 you have been my helper.25 Do not reject me or forsake26 me, O God my Savior.27 10 Though my father and mother forsake me, the LORD will receive me. 11 Teach me your way,28 O LORD; lead me in a straight path29 because of my oppressors.30 12 Do not turn me over to the desire of my foes, for false witnesses31 rise up against me, breathing out violence. 13 I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD 32 in the land of the living.33 14 Wait34 for the LORD; be strong35 and take heart and wait for the LORD.

Psalm 27:13-14 (NRSV)

13 I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD 1 in the land of the living.2 14 Wait3 for the LORD; be strong4 and take heart and wait for the LORD.

DEVOTION -Robert Boyce (Tennessee)

After struggling for months with breathing difficulties, my mother had a serious heart attack.  Despite the care of many good physicians, the diagnosis and solution to her problems remain unclear.  As an orthopedic trauma surgeon, I like to fix broken bones and to see immediate results;  but I have learned to wait on the Lord for hope, perspective, and healing.

Whether the problem is a broken bone or malfunctioning heart and lung, we cannot always control the healing process; but the Lord is with us.  Even without clear answers, I see the goodness of the Lord in the prayers and support of family members, coworkers, and church members.

The most helpful physicians involved in my mother’s care have taken the time to answer questions and to offer encouragement in hope and faith.  They have inspired me to communicate confidence and the need to wait upon the Lord, regardless of the problem or the proposed solution.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Regardless of the problem, begin and end with faith.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, comfort those suffering from disease, especially when answers are not clear.  Give them strength to be patient and to wait upon you for answers only you can give.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE LIVING WITH HEART DISEASE

