1 Corinthians 12:27-31 (NRSV)

27 Now you are the body of Christ and individually members of it.

28 And God has appointed in the church first apostles, second prophets, third teachers; then deeds of power, then gifts of healing, forms of assistance, forms of leadership, various kinds of tongues.
29 Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all work miracles?
30 Do all possess gifts of healing? Do all speak in tongues? Do all interpret?
31 But strive for the greater gifts. And I will show you a still more excellent way.

Genesis 1:26 (NRSV)

26 Then God said, “Let us make humankind a in our image, according to our likeness; and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the wild animals of the earth, b and over every creeping thing that creeps upon the earth.”

DEVOTION -John Porte (New South Wales, Australia)

I was looking through some childhood mementos – old photographs and the like – and I remembered how in my dreamy, idle moments as a youngster I would contemplate what I would do if I had certain superpowers like some of my cosmic-book heroes.

In reality, though, we all have superpowers:  Our skin can heal when it’s been cut’ broken bones can mend; we can see color and movement, hear sounds, taste food, smell roses, and recall happy memories.  More importantly, we have the superpowers of patience, tolerance, understanding, empathy, and love.

God has given us an astounding array of skills, functions, and abilities – which all too often we take for granted.  Just like those superheroes in the comics, we can put God’s superpowers to great use with those around us every day, whether by offering physical or financial assistance, being willing to listen, or by telling someone about the God who offers these gifts to all.

I may not be able to bend steel with my bare hands as I imagined in my childhood, but I hope that I can allow God’s love to flow through me to all those I meet; to help the lost become found; to battle evil and injustice in the name of Jesus.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: How can my God-given powers benefit someone I encounter today?

PRAYER: Source of strength, we thank you for the amazing powers you have given each of us through your Holy Spirit.  Help us to use our gifts in ways that reflect your love and grace.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE WHO DOUBT THEIR OWN WORTH

