Psalm 46:1-11 (NIV)

1 God is our refuge1 and strength,2 an ever-present3 help4 in trouble.5 2 Therefore we will not fear,6 though the earth give way7 and the mountains fall8 into the heart of the sea,9 3 though its waters roar10 and foam11 and the mountains quake12 with their surging. “Selah” 4 There is a river13 whose streams14 make glad the city of God,15 the holy place where the Most High16 dwells.17 5 God is within her,18 she will not fall;19 God will help20 her at break of day. 6 Nations21 are in uproar,22 kingdoms23 fall; he lifts his voice,24 the earth melts.25 7 The LORD Almighty26 is with us;27 the God of Jacob28 is our fortress.29 “Selah” 8 Come and see the works of the LORD,30 the desolations31 he has brought on the earth. 9 He makes wars32 cease to the ends of the earth; he breaks the bow33 and shatters the spear, he burns the shieldsa with fire.34 10 “Be still, and know that I am God;35 I will be exalted36 among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” 11 The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob37 is our fortress.38 “Selah”

Psalm 46:10 (NIV)

10 “Be still, and know that I am God! I am exalted among the nations, I am exalted in the earth.”                            

DEVOTION –  Kay L. Campbell (Connecticut)

Selah is a word used in the Bible, chiefly in the PSalms.  While selah is a word of uncertain meaning, some have interpreted it to mean “pause, and think of that.”

Pause?  Even with my good intentions to study God’s word daily, how often do I truly pause to deeply ponder its truths?  How often do I stop to “smell the roses” in my life instead of focusing on the thorns?  How often do I sincerely enjoy what God gives to me moment by moment?

Our lives can be extremely fast-paced, demanding, and tiring.  God recognizes the need for us to refresh our souls and knows that such renewal, can only be achieved if we slow down, take a breath, and rest in God’s presence.  That means setting aside all our distractions and turning our hearts and minds toward God.

Just as sleep is necessary for our physical health, pausing to reflect on God’s goodness is required for our spiritual well being.  With God’s help, I’ll add selah to my daily practice.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God is our true source of daily refreshment.

PRAYER: Heavenly Father, please help us to pause and reflect on your goodness today.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE UNABLE TO FIND REST

