Luke 158:4-10 (CEB)

4 “Suppose someone among you had one hundred sheep and lost one of them. Wouldn’t he leave the other ninety-nine in the pasture and search for the lost one until he finds it?

5 And when he finds it, he is thrilled and places it on his shoulders.
6 When he arrives home, he calls together his friends and neighbors, saying to them, ‘Celebrate with me because I’ve found my lost sheep.’
7 In the same way, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who changes both heart and life than over ninety-nine righteous people who have no need to change their hearts and lives.
8 Or what woman, if she owns ten silver coins and loses one of them, won’t light a lamp and sweep the house, searching her home carefully until she finds it?
9 When she finds it, she calls together her friends and neighbors, saying, ‘Celebrate with me because I’ve found my lost coin.’
10 In the same way, I tell you, joy breaks out in the presence of God’s angels over one sinner who changes both heart and life.

Exodus 19:5 (CEB)

5 So now, if you faithfully obey me and stay true to my covenant, you will be my most precious possession out of all the peoples, since the whole earth belongs to me.                            

DEVOTION:  Hannah Covington (Illinois)

Growing up, I often retreated to my mother’s bedroom and made a beeline for her jewelry box.  Inside was the jewelry my mother had accumulated over the years.  I loved counting the metal figures on her silver charm bracelet and hearing the jingle of her earrings when I shook them.  I knew she value her because of the care she took to keep it safe.

My mother knew where every ring and pearl necklace was placed.  If one went missing, she scoured our home until she found it.  he often reminded me, “Hannah, as you collect special things, remember to treat them like the treasures they are.”  I have taken her words to heart.  I also have a wooden box filled with cherished jewelry and trinkets I want to keep safe.

Sometimes we forget that God views us as special treasures.  When I struggle to feel beautiful or valued, I think of my mother’s jewelry box and realize that God sees me as a precious jewel to be protected and loved.  God sacrificed his Son to purchase  us.  God treasures each one of us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God treasures us so that we can treasure others.

PRAYER: Gracious God, you know everything about us.  In your eyes, we are “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Ps. 139:14, NIV).  Help us to see one another through your loving eyes and to accept the value and love you invest in us.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE WHO FEELS INADEQUATE

