Psalm 139:13; Romans 12:3-8 (NIV)

13 For you created my inmost being;1 you knit me together2 in my mother’s womb.3 14 I praise you4 because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful,5 I know that full well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made6 in the secret place. When I was woven together7 in the depths of the earth,8 16 your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained9 for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

3 For by the grace given me1 I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. 4 Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function,2 5 so in Christ we who are many form one body,3 and each member belongs to all the others.6 We have different gifts,4 according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying,5 let him use it in proportion to hisa faith.6 7 If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach;7 8 if it is encouraging, let him encourage;8 if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously;9 if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.

Psalm 139:14 (NIV)

14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; that I know very well.                            

DEVOTION – Roger Wayne Hicks (Arizona)

A beautiful purple finch was trying desperately to drink from our hummingbird feeder.  Watching it furiously flap its wings in an attempt to maintain an airborne drinking position, I said, “Don’t you know you’re not a hummingbird?”  Eventually the finch hurried to secure footing on a nearby tree branch.  It seemed to have realized that it could not hover like a hummingbird.

Observing this finch caused me to ask myself, ” How often do I attempt to be, or wish to be, something or somebody I am not?”  No matter how much I have wished I had the wood-crafting talent of my two brothers or my wife’s ability to play the piano by ear, I have come to realize that these abilities are not mine.  That is not the way my Creator put me together.  But God has given me some talents that neither my brothers nor my wife have.  In divine wisdom and grace, God made us each different.

Realizing that god has created each of us as unique individuals, we can confidently live as the people God created us to be.  This means we can celebrate our personal uniqueness and search for special ways that we may effectively share that uniqueness with family, community, and church.  Such celebrating and sharing can be a tangible way for us to praise and thank God for creating us the way we are.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Our uniqueness is a living example of God’s boundless grace.

PRAYER: Marvelous Creator; help us to celebrate our uniqueness and to use a positive difference in the lives of others.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE SEEKING A WAY TO SERVE

