Job 42:1-6 (NIV)

1 Then Job replied to the LORD: 2 “I know that you can do all things;1 no plan of yours can be thwarted.2 3 [You asked,] ‘Who is this that obscures my counsel without knowledge?’3 Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know.4 4 [“You said,] ‘Listen now, and I will speak; I will question you, and you shall answer me.’5 5 My ears had heard of you6 but now my eyes have seen you.7 6 Therefore I despise myself8 and repent9 in dust and ashes.”10

Job 42:1-2 (NIV)

1 Then Job replied to the LORD: 2 “I know that you can do all things;1 no plan of yours can be thwarted.2

DEVOTION – George A. Nye (Oregon)

From the time I was five, wrestling with my dad was our ritual. He’d pin me; sometimes he let me win.  As I grew, the struggles got more intense.  When I was 13 I beat him, and I could tell that he had used all his strength.  I was elated – for about 30 seconds.  As Dad walked quietly away, a feeling of sadness washed over me.  I’m stronger than my dad.  That’s not supposed to happen.  If Dad’s not stronger than me, how can he be my authority and my protector?

Since the Garden of Eden, we’ve yearned to be smarter than God.  In his desperation, Job came to that point.  (See Job 10.)  Job didn’t want to be greater than God, any more than I wanted to actually pin my dad.  If I was stronger than Dad, then I seemed to me that my 13-year-old’s strength was all I had to rely on.  Job wanted God to be ultimate resource with the assurance that he was a child of God.  “Before, you were only a theory to me,”  Job was saying.  “Now, I know that you are my ultimate reality.”

How reassuring it is to discover that our salvation does not lie in our own cleverness and strength!  God’s power is a loving power  in which we, like Job, become free to experience a peace and comfort that only God can give.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: When we acknowledge God’s power, we can experience peace.

PRAYER: O God, help us to remember that our achievements matter only when your power resides in us.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: FATHERS AND SONS

