Matthew 7:7-11 (NIV)

7 “Ask and it will be given to you;1 seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds;2 and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. 9 “Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts3 to those who ask him!

Matthew 7:7 (NIV)

7 “Ask and it will be given to you;1 seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.                            

DEVOTION -Richard N. Ryley (New York)

I recently retired after 51 years in ministry, and I was struggling with how to be useful.  One morning in my prayer time, I asked God to show me how I could be of service both to him and others that day.

A few hours later I was driving through the local mall parking lot when I noticed a bloodmobile and a sign asking for blood donors.   As a long-time donor, I thought, That is something I can do;  I’ll have to do that sometime.  Then that inner voice that the Holy Spirit uses to get our attention reminded me that I had asked God to give me something to do today.  So I walked over to the bloodmobile and signed up to donate then and there.

That experience reminded me that when we ask God for direction for our lives, we need to look and listen for the answers that God gives.  Otherwise, we may miss the very moment we prayed for.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God’s timing is perfect.

PRAYER: Gracious God, who listens to all our prayers, give us eyes to see and ears to hear your answers – and a willing spirit to respond.  As Jesus taught us, we pray, “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us today our daily bread.  And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.  And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one”  (Matt. 6:9-13, NIV).  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: BLOOD DONORS

