Matthew 7:1-5 (NRSV)

1 “Do not judge, so that you may not be judged.

2 For with the judgment you make you will be judged, and the measure you give will be the measure you get.
3 Why do you see the speck in your neighbor’s a eye, but do not notice the log in your own eye? 4 Or how can you say to your neighbor, b “Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ while the log is in your own eye?
5 You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your neighbor’s c eye.

Matthew 7:1 (NRSV)

1 “Do not judge, so that you may not be judged.

DEVOTION – Jose G. Chavez (Mississippi)

Recently, someone treated me unfairly.  I had to deal with the hurt and anger I felt toward the other person.  I wanted justice.  Than, as God’s Spirit started to work in me, I realized that my attitude was not pleasing to God.  I stopped, prayed, and asked for God’s wisdom.

God responded with a question, “How have I dealt with you when you acted inappropriately toward another person?”  I knew the answer immediately: God has treated me with grace and mercy.  My savior, Jesus Christ, who went to the cross on my behalf, received the justice I deserve.  God also helped me to realize that the other person’s treatment of me was a one-time event, compared to the many times I had been treated with dignity and respect.  What occurred could have happened to anyone for many reasons and was probably not a personal affront.

I realized that I should deal with the situation and the other person with grace and mercy, leaving justice in God’s hands.  I asked God’s forgiveness for being rash, and my spirit returned to a state of peace.  My goal is to be like Christ, so I need to treat others as the Lord treats me.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Am I showing God’s grace to those around me?

PRAYER: Dear Lord, help us to treat others with the grace and mercy you show to us through Jesus Christ.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE WHO HAS TREATED ME UNFAIRLY

