John 10:11-18 (CEB)

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

×

References for John 10:11

12 When the hired hand sees the wolf coming, he leaves the sheep and runs away. That’s because he isn’t the shepherd; the sheep aren’t really his. So the wolf attacks the sheep and scatters them.
13 He’s only a hired hand and the sheep don’t matter to him.
14 “I am the good shepherd. I know my own sheep and they know me,
15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father. I give up my life for the sheep.
16 I have other sheep that don’t belong to this sheep pen. I must lead them too. They will listen to my voice and there will be one flock, with one shepherd.
17 This is why the Father loves me: I give up my life so that I can take it up again.
18 No one takes it from me, but I give it up because I want to. I have the right to give it up, and I have the right to take it up again. I received this commandment from my Father.

John 10:11 (CEB)

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

DEVOTION -Jasmine Rose Smothers (Georgia)

I was in a meeting when it started.  We all looked out the window in awe of the unfamiliar “white stuff” falling from the sky.  “Wow!  The meteorologists were right!”  exclaimed one of my colleagues.  We abruptly headed to our cars so that we could get home before the snow got worse.  But it was too late.  The snowstorm caught us unprepared, crippling the city and its transportation systems.  People were stranded for days in cars, at work, at school, and on buses.  People abandoned their vehicles and  walked miles in order to pick up their children or find a place that was warm and dry.  Food and water became luxuries as getting to a store or finding an open restaurant proved an impossible task.

As I sat in my car for hours, wondering if I would make it home, I started to become anxious.  And then I remembered the promises of the Good Shepherd who knows each one of us by name and all of our needs.  Because we have a good shepherd who knows us and sacrifices his life for us, we “lack nothing” and we “fear no danger.”  Our good shepherd is always with us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: The Lord is my good shepherd.

PRAYER: Dear God, thank you for being our good shepherd and staying with us at all times.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE STRANDED BY STORMS

