Isaiah 54:9-12 (NIV)

9 “To me this is like the days of Noah, when I swore that the waters of Noah would never again cover the earth.1 So now I have sworn2 not to be angry3 with you, never to rebuke4 you again. 10 Though the mountains be shaken56 and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love7 for you will not be shaken8 nor my covenant9 of peace10 be removed,” says the LORD, who has compassion11 on you. 11 “O afflicted12 city, lashed by storms13 and not comforted,14 I will build you with stones of turquoise,a15 your foundations16 with sapphires.b17 12 I will make your battlements of rubies, your gates18 of sparkling jewels, and all your walls of precious stones.

Romans 5:8 (NIV)

8 But God proves his love for us in that while we still were sinners Christ died for us.                            

DEVOTION: Valerie A. Foster (New York)

A heavy ceramic crock with a wooden cover sits on our front porch.  Recently, my husband was working on the porch.  Recently, my husband was working on the porch and moved the crock out of the way.  He heard something clatter, removed the cover, and found an old tin can filled with stones.  A note inside the can read, “To Dad, with love from Jenna.”

Our daughter, Jenna, is now 27 years old.  When I told her what her father had found, she said she had no memory of writing the note or placing the can of stones inside the crock.  But the handwriting was definitely hers.  We wondered what had led her to hide her treasure in the crock.  Whatever Jenna’s reason, finding the treasure brought joy  to my husband.  He could picture Jenna searching for perfect stones and carefully writing the note to him.  Her note was a sweet reminder of her love for him.

In a similar way, we can find sweet reminders in the Bible, treasures God has placed there for us.  If we don’t open our Bibles, we never find those treasures.  But when we do and a verse speaks to us in a deep way, we know we have found a love note from our Father.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God knows me and loves me.

PRAYER: Holy Father, as we read your word, open our hearts so that we may know your love for us.  Instill your words in our hearts so that we may share your treasure with others.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: BIBLE STUDY GROUPS

