Psalm 138:1-3 (CEB)

1 I give thanks to you with all my heart, LORD.a I sing your praise before all other gods. 2 I bow toward your holy temple and thank your name for your loyal love and faithfulness because you have made your name and word greater than everything else.b 3 On the day I cried out, you answered me. You encouraged me with inner strength.c

1 Peter 3:12 (CEB)

12 The Lord’s eyes are on the righteous and his ears are open to their prayers. But the Lord cannot tolerate those who do evil.                            

DEVOTION – Monica A. Andermann (New York)

I was on the phone with my friend Jen the other day, discussing a particularly troubling dilemma she was experiencing.  She was looking for advice, yet the only advice I could offer was that she should pray about her problem.

“Pray?”  she asked.  “But how?  There are so many prayers.  Which one should I say?”

Through the years, I’ve turned to prayer in times of need and in times of gratitude, too.  What I have discovered is that no one specific prayer or method of praying works better than another.  As I told Jen, speaking a simple prayer like “Help me, God,” in a hospital emergency room can be just as effective as reciting a psalm while on my knees in church.

God knows our hearts.  What’s important is that we speak to our Lord in the best way we can and then listen for the answer.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Gods hears – and answers – our prayers.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, how comforting it is to know that prayer, in any form, is powerful.  Thank you for hearing the needs of our hearts.  We pray in the name of Jesus.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS:THOSE WHO HAVE GIVEN UP ON PRAYER 

