Isaiah 55:6-9 (CEB)

6 Seek the LORD when he can still be found; call him while he is yet near.

7 Let the wicked abandon their ways and the sinful their schemes. Let them return to the LORD so that he may have mercy on them, to our God, because he is generous with forgiveness.
8 My plans aren’t your plans, nor are your ways my ways, says the LORD.
9 Just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my plans than your plans.

Matthew 19:26 (CEB)

26 Jesus looked at them carefully and said, “It’s impossible for human beings. But all things are possible for God.”                            

DEVOTION – Janet M. Manuel (Isabela, Philippines)

Recently, my daughter and I were both sick while my husband was in another town for his work.  So, when we needed some medications we had no one to go to the distant drugstore in the village to buy then for us.  I prayed, “Lord, please send someone to help us.”  Soon after my prayer, I heard footsteps coming toward the house.  When she entered the house, I recognized a girl who lives nearby.  This girl can hardly speak, and she doesn’t know how to read or write.  However, I smiled at her as she came to me, realizing that she was being sent by God to tend to our needs that day.  I took a piece of paper, wrote down the name of the medications that we needed, and gave her some money.  I asked her to go to the drugstore and then bring the medicines back to the house.  To my relief, she returned to the house only 20 minutes later with the medications in her hand.

I realized that even though I thought it was impossible to ask the girl for help, God made it possible for her to understand and for me to trust.  God’s ways are truly far greater than our ways.  God is faithful and will never abandon us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Everything is possible with God.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, help us to realize that your love and ways are greater than our ways and expectations.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE WITH DISABILITIES

