Isaiah 43:1-7(NIV)

1 But now, this is what the LORD says– he who created1 you, O Jacob, he who formed2 you, O Israel:3 “Fear not, for I have redeemed4 you; I have summoned you by name;5 you are mine.6 2 When you pass through the waters,7 I will be with you;8 and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire,9 you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.10 3 For I am the LORD, your God,11 the Holy One12 of Israel, your Savior;13 I give Egypt14 for your ransom, Cusha15 and Seba16 in your stead.17 4 Since you are precious and honored18 in my sight, and because I love19 you, I will give men in exchange for you, and people in exchange for your life. 5 Do not be afraid,20 for I am with you;21 I will bring your children22 from the east and gather23 you from the west.24 6 I will say to the north, ‘Give them up!’ and to the south,25 ‘Do not hold them back.’ Bring my sons from afar and my daughters26 from the ends of the earth277 everyone who is called by my name,28 whom I created29 for my glory,30 whom I formed and made.31

Romans 8:38-39 (NIV)

38 For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers,

39 nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

DEVOTION – Michael Arnum (Massachusetts)

When I was younger, I welcomed change.  That was probably because I either instigated the changes in my life or at least seemed to have control over them.  Life was full of new possibilities as I went off to college, learned new things, and made new friends.  Change was everywhere, encouraged, and embraced.

Now that I am older, I realize that life sometimes leads me to places I don’t want to go.  I have become resistant to change and often try to cling to the status quo.  My head knows that this is impossible, but my heart remains stubborn.

We often don’t see “the big picture” in life; only God does.  Change can bring about anxiety and fear, until we recognize that God is with us in midst of all change.

Letting go fear begins when we trust in God.  When change comes, we can ask what we may learn from the situation.  We can look for what God might be trying to teach us, which can lessen our resistance to change.  And we can pray that we will be able to cope with change and allow God to guide us through it.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Fear decreases as faith increase

PRAYER: O God, walk with us today and be our guide through whatever changes may come.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE FACING CHANGE

