Ephesians 3:13-21 (CEB)

13 So then, I ask you not to become discouraged by what I’m suffering for you, which is your glory.  14 This is why I kneel before the Father. 15 Every ethnic group in heaven or on earth is recognized by him. 16 I ask that he will strengthen you in your inner selves from the riches of his glory through the Spirit. 17 I ask that Christ will live in your hearts through faith. As a result of having strong roots in love, 18 I ask that you’ll have the power to grasp love’s width and length, height and depth, together with all believers.19 I ask that you’ll know the love of Christ that is beyond knowledge so that you will be filled entirely with the fullness of God.20 Glory to God, who is able to do far beyond all that we could ask or imagine by his power at work within us; 21 glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus for all generations, forever and always. Amen.                           

Psalm 63:3 (CEB)

3 Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.                            

DEVOTION – Agneta Johansson (Jonkoping, Sweden)

Yesterday in church I observed the family sitting in front of me.  The son sat in a wheelchair beside the parents.  He was throwing his head back and forth intensely, incessantly.  As soon as they sat down, the father stretched out his arm, leaned his elbow against the wheelchair handle, and held the back of the boy’s head to clam the spasms.  Throughout the sermon, I saw how the father’s hand held and caressed the boy’s head.  Finally, the boy was pacified by his father’s touch; his head became still.

For me, the image of this father and son was a sermon in itself.  The love that the father expressed was so patient, so enduring, and so great that I’m sure it came from God, transported through the father to his son.  It seemed to me that the father realized that God had given him so much love for his son that it overcame the hardships of having a child with special needs.  In that moment, the father opened up his heart for God’s love to flow through him.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Today I will clear my heart of anything that stands in the way of God’s love.

PRAYER: God of all comfort, help us to be a conduit for your love.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: FAMILIES OF CHILDREN WITH SPRCIAL NEEDS

