Colossians 3:12-17 (CEB)

12 Therefore, as God’s choice, holy and loved, put on compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.

13 Be tolerant with each other and, if someone has a complaint against anyone, forgive each other. As the Lord forgave you, so also forgive each other.
14 And over all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity.
15 The peace of Christ must control your hearts—a peace into which you were called in one body. And be thankful people.
16 The word of Christ must live in you richly. Teach and warn each other with all wisdom by singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. Sing to God with gratitude in your hearts.
17 Whatever you do, whether in speech or action, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus and give thanks to God the Father through him.

Ephesians 4:23-24(CEB)

23 and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds,

24 and to clothe yourselves with the new self, created according to the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.

DEVOTION -Keith Honeyman (Western Cape, South Africa)

When I was growing up, children wore hand-me-downs: clothes, often darned or patched and passed down form older brothers and sisters.  Except at school, at church, and for special occasions, I often wore clothing that no longer fit my brother.  I wore what my parents provided.  Some hand-me-downs were better than others.

I also wore attitudes, behavior, beliefs, and responses that were handed down – received from my parents and other role models.  Some were good and acceptable; others were not.

When I grew up and started to earn a living, I cast off my drab hand-me-downs, bought new clothes, and took responsibility for what I wore.

On the glorious day when I asked Jesus into my life, I prayerfully sorted through my spiritual and behavioral hand-me-downs and asked God to take away my soiled, broken, and destructive behavior, beliefs, and attitudes and to clothe me anew in the Spirit

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Today I will take time to think before I speak or act.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, please grant us forgiveness, strength, and grace to put aside hurtful attitudes, speech, and actions.  Adorn us with the bright clothing of faith and love.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: FOR A WILLINGNESS TO CHANGE MY ATTITUDES

