Romans 8:18-28 (NRSV)

18 I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory about to be revealed to us.

19 For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the children of God;
20 for the creation was subjected to futility, not of its own will but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope
21 that the creation itself will be set free from its bondage to decay and will obtain the freedom of the glory of the children of God.
22 We know that the whole creation has been groaning in labor pains until now;
23 and not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly while we wait for adoption, the redemption of our bodies.
24 For in a hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes b for what is seen?

25 But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.
26 Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we ought, but that very Spirit intercedes c with sighs too deep for words. 
27 And God, d who searches the heart, knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit e intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. f Ž 
28 We know that all things work together for good g for those who love God, who are called

Romans 8:28(NRSV)

28 We know that all things work together for good a for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose.                            

DEVOTION – Cathy Lee Taylor (Florida)

My husband had returned from visiting his father who was in intensive care at a hospital three hours away.  Sick for 18 years, my father-in-law seemed finally to be dying.  After my family went to bed, I sat down reflect on the stressful events of the day.

I prayed for my husband and then for other family members who had stayed behind at the hospital.  But when I tried to pray for my father-in-law, I realized that I did not know how to pray for him.  I couldn’t think of what to say, so I prayed for God’s will for him.  I thanked God that I could pray that simple prayer in all situations and trust that God would work simple prayer in all situations and trust that God would work all things for good.

I picked up The Upper Room and turned to that day’s meditation.  The first words I read were:  Jesus prayed,  “thy kingdom come.  Thy will be done . . .” (Matt. 6:10, KJV).  The Verse was exactly when I needed to confirm that God heard my prayer.  I immediately felt peace and a renewed connection with God.  I knew that God understood and had received my prayer.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God hears our prayers, even when we have no words.

PRAYER: Dear God, thank you for Jesus’ example of a perfect prayer.  Help us to come before you with our burdens and concerns as we pray, “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us today our daily bread.  And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.  And lead us not into temptation, bur deliver us from evil one” (Matt. 6:9-13, NIV).  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE WILL FAMILY IN THE HOSPITAL

