Psalm 19:1-6 (NIV)

1 The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.  2 Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge.  3 There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard.  4 Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world. In the heavens he has pitched a tent for the sun,  5 which is like a bridegroom coming forth from his pavilion, like a champion rejoicing to run his course. 6 It rises at one end of the heavens and makes its circuit to the other; nothing is hidden from its heat.   

Psalm 19:1 (NIV)

1 The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.

DEVOTION -Judy Walton (Pennsylvania)

My husband and I were towing a small boat containing three stranded fellow fishermen back to land.  A short time into the trip, I looked up and was amazed to see overhead a multitude of beautiful orange and black butterflies in migration flight lines that paralleled our route.  For over an hour my husband and I marveled at the delightful creatures gently fluttering toward an unseen winter home.

When we reached land and could talk with the people in the other boat, we explained our joy in being directly under the butterflies the whole trip.  The men looked puzzled.  They said they had been so focused on their boat that they had never looked up.

That conversation made me wonder if I too am sometimes so consumed by a problem that I don’t notice a nearby, lovely blessing from God.  As a result, when my soul is troubled, I have learned to pause, to take a wider view, and to appreciate the natural beauty God has created for us.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Where do I see God’s handiwork today?

PRAYER: Dear God, when we are distressed, remind us to look beyond ourselves and find comfort in the wonders of your creation.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE WHO FISH FOR A LIVING

