2 Chronicles 15:1-7 (NIV)

1 The Spirit of God came upon Azariah son of Oded. 2 He went out to meet Asa and said to him, “Listen to me, Asa and all Judah and Benjamin. The LORD is with you when you are with him. If you seek him, he will be found by you, but if you forsake him, he will forsake you.  3 For a long time Israel was without the true God, without a priest to teach and without the law.  4 But in their distress they turned to the LORD, the God of Israel, and sought him, and he was found by them. 5 In those days it was not safe to travel about, for all the inhabitants of the lands were in great turmoil. 6 One nation was being crushed by another and one city by another, because God was troubling them with every kind of distress. 7 But as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded.”   

Philippians 4:6 (NIV)

6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.   

DEVOTION – Sue Fairchild (Pennsylvania)

A problem at work plagued me for two weeks.  I ran every scenario, checked every figure, and double-checked all my work.  I still had no solution.  I walked away from the problem and asked others for help, but I was still stuck.    Why was my assignment so hard?

My job title was Budget Analyst, and I analyzed every figure as if my life depended on it.  I had done everything within my power and knowledge to make the numbers match.  Fear of being fired and frustration with my lack of skills weighed heavily on me.  I did the only thing left:  I got down on my knees.

I thought of Philippians 4:6 and 1 Thessalonians 5:17, which instructed me to pray.  Right there in my office, I cried out to God.  I put my problem in God’s hands.  I begged for peace, clarity, a solution.  I hesitated to go to God with what I considered a trivial problem; but my heart and various Bible verses told me differently.  When I got back on my feet, I felt God’s calm presence.  I knew that whatever happened, I would be OK.  Although the solution wasn’t immediate (coming a few days later), my heart was immediately filled with peace.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Today I will seek God’s guidance even for the small stuff.

PRAYER: Dear God, teach us in every situation to put our faith and trust in you.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE WHO STRUGGLE IN THEIR JOBS

