2 Corinthians 3:1-5 (NIV)

1 Are we beginning to commend ourselves again? Or do we need, like some people, letters of recommendation to you or from you? 2 You yourselves are our letter, written on our hearts, known and read by everybody.  3 You show that you are a letter from Christ, the result of our ministry, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.  4 Such confidence as this is ours through Christ before God. 5 Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.   

2 Corinthians 3:5 (NIV)

5 Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.   

DEVOTION – Gayla C. Carreon (Quezon, Phlippines)

For most of my life I was full of hubris (excessive pride or self-confidence).  My rationale was, “God has given me abilities and resources, and I honor God by using them to accomplish my task.”  Never did I ask whether the opportunities and challenges that came my way were in line with God’s plan.  And even when I failed, I attributed the failure to myself, to my inadequacy.  I would eventually ask God for help, but prayer was always my last resort.

The one day, overwhelmed by the demands on my time and energy, I stopped what I was doing, fell to my knees, and confessed to God that I was helpless.  I surrendered my whole being to the Lord, putting everything in God’s hands.  Very quickly, my schedule eased up.  From then on, I have tried to listen to and follow God’s leading.  As a result, I chose to leave corporate work – with its recognition, privileges, and pleasures – in favor of working in ministry.

I’ve learned to attribute the completion of every task, the endurance of every trial, to God.  My prayer is for God to give me true humility as exemplified by our Savior Jesus Christ.  (See Phil. 2:1-11.)

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: “Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up” (Jas. 4:10, NIV).

PRAYER: Loving God, forgive us for our pride.  Help us to humble ourselves and to trust fully in you.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THE PEOPLE OF THE PHILIPPIANS

