2 Corinthians 12:6-10 (NIV)

6 Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say. 7 To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.   

2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV)

9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.   

DEVOTION – Davis Chappell (Tennessee)

Mabel was known as a prayer warrior.  She was always willing to intercede with God on behalf of others.  This was one of her gifts.  Being available to others was another.  In her later years she had become discouraged when her poor eyesight interfered with her desire to serve.  Once, when she had tried to call a friend, she misread the number and dialed incorrectly.  Typical of Mabel, she began asking the person at the other end of the call about his life and if he was a person of faith.  She had a long conversation with “Wrong Number” and gave him a lot of encouragement, which she said seemed to change his tone and attitude as they talked.  When he thanked Mabel for the call, she realized that God could use even her poor eyesight as an avenue for service.

Mabel’s example is a reminder to me that God can use not only our gifts and graces but also our weaknesses and “wrong numbers.”  More and more I’m discovering that God is in the detours of our lives.  Indeed, those detours often become thoroughfares through which we experience epiphany.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God can turn our “wrong numbers” into opportunities.

PRAYER: Dear God, show us ways every day that we can be available to serve those around us.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THE ELDERLY

