Isaiah 41:8-10 (CEB)

8 But you, Israel my servant, Jacob, whom I have chosen, offspring of Abraham, whom I love, 9 you whom I took from the ends of the earth and called from its farthest corners, saying to you, “You are my servant; I chose you and didn’t reject you”: 10 Don’t fear, because I am with you; don’t be afraid, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, I will surely help you; I will hold you with my righteous strong hand.   

Isaiah 41:10 (CEB)

10 Don’t fear, because I am with you; don’t be afraid, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, I will surely help you; I will hold you with my righteous strong hand.   

DEVOTION – Denise Kirk-Hall (Texas)

I felt the helicopter lit off the pad.  I was strapped onto a narrow stretcher, struggling to breathe through an oxygen mask.  An emergency medical technician watched me carefully.  “Are you doing OK?” she asked.

I nodded, but I wasn’t OK.  The emergency room doctor had ordered that I be flown  to a big-city medical center.  I knew I was in danger of dying.  “Is this it?”  I asked God.

“No, this isn’t it,” came God’s strong, certain reply.

I settled back and peered through the window at the white clouds and blue sky.  My anxiety subsided.  I felt a quiet strength flood my being.  I knew I was going to be OK, no matter what.

Isaiah reminds us that God chose a tiny, ragged band of people to be God’s own.  In doing so, God promised to hold them and to sustain them through all their trials.  They were not always faithful to god and not always grateful, but God was always with them.  god’s powerful love would not let them go.  Those promises belong to us, too.  God’s nature is to love and strengthen us through all the difficult times in our lives.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God is the source of our strength.

PRAYER: Loving God, thank you for sustaining us through all the trials in our lives.  Remind us that you are always close, and help us to be faithful.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: EMERGENCY MEDICAL TEAMS

