Psalm 3:1-5 (NIV)

1 O LORD, how many are my foes! How many rise up against me! 2 Many are saying of me, “God will not deliver him.” “Selah”  3 But you are a shield around me, O LORD; you bestow glory on me and lift up my head.  4 To the LORD I cry aloud, and he answers me from his holy hill. “Selah” 5 I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me.   

Psalm 4:8 (NIV)

8 I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.

DEVOTION –  Sarah M. DuBose (South Carolina)

My mother was always a generous gift-giver.  One of the most meaningful gifts I ever received from her came after her death at age 88.  While I was sorting through her belongings, a sheet of her personalized stationery slowly drifted to the floor.  On it were handwritten Bible verses from her favorite book, Psalms.  Her handwriting had become almost illegible, but to my surprise these scripture verses from Psalms were written in a strong, confident hand.  During those years of declining mental and physical health, she had found solace in the beautiful poetry and prayers from Psalms 3 and 4.  I imagined her carefully writing words that gave her comfort-words that would now give me comfort in the difficult days and nights following her death.

I framed this declaration of my mother’s faith and placed it on my desk in my home office.  It reminds me every day of God’s assurance that we can “lie down in peace and sleep” as God watches over us.  When fear and worry rob us of the sleep our body requires, we can “call out to the LORD” and he will give us the rest we need.

More precious than any present purchased at the store is God’s promise that we can feel safe and secure in loving arms.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God’s faithfulness is a treasured gift.

PRAYER: Loving Father, keep us under your graceful watch today and give us a peaceful rest tonight.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE WHO HAVE DIFFICULTY SLEEPING

