Exodus 4:10-12 (NRSV)

10 But Moses said to the Lord, “O my Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor even now that you have spoken to your servant; but I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.” 11 Then the Lord said to him, “Who gives speech to mortals? Who makes them mute or deaf, seeing or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you are to speak.”

Romans 12:6 (NRSV)

6 We have gifts that differ according to the grace given to us: prophecy, in proportion to faith;

DEVOTION -Peter J. van der Linden (Iowa)

re4cently my wife and I were going through some old dishes to decide which were suitable to give away and which were unsalvageable.  At one point, when I rescued a cup that had a large chip in the rim, She looked surprised.  “It’s my favorite cup.”  I told her.  ‘It reminds m that we can be flawed but still useful.”

Throughout history, God has used people who were less than perfect.  Moses was “slow of speech and tongue” (NIV).  Rahab was a prostitute.  David committed adultery with Bathsheba, then arranged to have her husband die in battle.  Peter denied Jesus three times.

I also have many weaknesses and imperfections.  And as I near retirement I am beginning to feel my age.  My eyesight, hearing, and memory aren’t what they used to be, and the aches and pains are growing more frequent.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t be useful.  I can go into an uncertain future with confidence in my ability to keep serving the Lord because I know that God will be there with me.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: We don’t have to be perfect to be useful to God.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, remind us that we can be useful in serving you despite our flaw.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE NEARING RETIREMENT

