Matthew 25:31-40 (NIV)

31 “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory. 32 All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.  33 He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left. 34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.  35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,  36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’  37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ 40 “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’   

Matthew 25:34-35 (NIV)

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.  35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,   

DEVOTION – Philip Polo (Nairobi, Kenya)

A friend had promised to join me at the airport to offer company and assistance while I was traveling.  When I arrived, my friend was not at the airport, and I was unable to reach him.  I had no money to buy a meal, no phone, and no internet access, to send an email; so I sat, feel lonely and afraid as I waited for my flight.  When a young man passed by, holding a cell phone, I asked him to help me send a text message.  Not only did he let me make a call, but he also bought me snacks for breakfast.  How did he know I was hungry?

I am grateful to God for coming to me through a stranger, who met my needs and offered me comfort.  This stranger’s generous help reminded me of Matthew 25:40: “Whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.”  I have learned to be vigilant, willing to offer assistance to someone in need without prompting, because in so doing, I am serving the Lord.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: What opportunities are available for me to minister to the people I encounter today?

PRAYER: Thank you, dear God, for your abundant and loving care.  Give us a discerning spirit and willingness to assist those in need.  In Jesus’ name we pray.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE WhO ARE TRAVELING

