Matthew 9:18-26 (NRSV)

18 While he was saying these things to them, suddenly a leader of the synagogue  came in and knelt before him, saying, “My daughter has just died; but come and lay your hand on her, and she will live.” 19 And Jesus got up and followed him, with his disciples. 20 Then suddenly a woman who had been suffering from hemorrhages for twelve years came up behind him and touched the fringe of his cloak, 21 for she said to herself, “If I only touch his cloak, I will be made well.” 22 Jesus turned, and seeing her he said, “Take heart, daughter; your faith has made you well.” And instantly the woman was made well. 23 When Jesus came to the leader’s house and saw the flute players and the crowd making a commotion, 24 he said, “Go away; for the girl is not dead but sleeping.” And they laughed at him. 25 But when the crowd had been put outside, he went in and took her by the hand, and the girl got up. 26 And the report of this spread throughout that district.

Matthew 9:22 (NRSV)

22 Jesus turned, and seeing her he said, “Take heart, daughter; your faith has made you well.” And instantly the woman was made well.   

DEVOTION – Vicki Hines (Tennessee)

Several year ago I became ill and doctors told me they could treat my symptoms but that my condition would likely never go away.  Dealing with my situation became the focus of my life as I searched for relief.  Eventually, I became discouraged and turned to my Bible for solace.  I began to look for biblical stories of illness and healing.  One of the stories I read was of the woman who believed she could be healed if she could only touch Jesus’ garment.  Her belief was strong that it led her to pursue Jesus so she could touch his clothing.  When she did, Jesus told her that her faith had healed her.

Using this story from Matthew as a model, I began to pray for my healing.  As I pursued Jesus in prayer, I visualized myself touching the hem of his garment and my body being healed.  I was not instantly healed; however, over time my attitude toward my situation changed.  I stopped focusing on myself and started asking Jesus to use me as a vessel for his work.

Eventually my symptoms became more manageable, and today they are gone.  Doctors say that someone with the health condition I had can experience spontaneous healing, but I will always believe that my healing came from the Lord.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY:What Bible stories have helped you through a difficult time?

PRAYER: Dear God, thank you for the Bible to guide us and inspire us.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: DOCTORS

