2Timothy 3:10-17 (NRSV)

10 Now you have observed my teaching, my conduct, my aim in life, my faith, my patience, my love, my steadfastness, 11 my persecutions, and my suffering the things that happened to me in Antioch, Iconium, and Lystra. What persecutions I endured! Yet the Lord rescued me from all of them. 12 Indeed, all who want to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted. 13 But wicked people and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving others and being deceived. 14 But as for you, continue in what you have learned and firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it, 15 and how from childhood you have known the sacred writings that are able to instruct you for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. 16 All scripture is inspired by God and is  useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, 17 so that everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work.   

2 Timothy 3:16-17 (NRSV)

16 All scripture is inspired by God and is  useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, 17 so that everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work.   

DEVOTION – Philip A. Rice (Michigan)

I have a Bible on my e-reader.  However, it seems ironic to be reading this sacred book that is 2,000 to 3,000 years old on such a device.

This reminds me of all the permutations these ancient words have gone through.  The Bible contains 66 books – written on parchment or papyrus in Hebrew, Greek, and Aramaic – by many different authors in different times and situations.

Even so, the Bible’s road to the 21st century has been rough.  God’s word has been suppressed, hidden, opposed, and sometimes even burned, but it has also been treasured often.  Here it is for anyone to read – the truth of God that leads us to grace, truth, love, and peace.

Someday my e-reader will be as obsolete as the horse and buggy, and what will take its place is anybody’s guess.  But even then, God’s word of the truth and grace tat we see in Jesus will be as fresh and contemporary as it is now.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: The truth of God’s word s eternal.

PRAYER: Holy One, we are grateful for your living word that shines through every age.  May your truth find a home in our hearts.  this we pray in Jesus’ name.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: BIBLE TRANSLATORS

