Psalm 109:1-4 (NIV)

1 O God, whom I praise, do not remain silent,  2 for wicked and deceitful men have opened their mouths against me; they have spoken against me with lying tongues.  3 With words of hatred they surround me; they attack me without cause.  4 In return for my friendship they accuse me, but I am a man of prayer.   

Psalm 109:4 (NIV)

4 In return for my friendship they accuse me, but I am a man of prayer.

DEVOTION -Harriet Michael (Kentucky)

When I first stumbled upon this passage it was almost shocking to me.  At the time I was very concerned about a friend’s situation.  I was praying earnestly for my friend and to be honest, I found myself wondering just how effective prayer really was in situations like my friend’s.  And then I read the psalmist’s words.

What makes today’s quoted verse so remarkable are the verses that precede it.  Through David did not write all the psalms, he was likely the writer of this one.  In the first few verses of this psalm he writes some awful and even scary things.  He says wicked and deceitful men have told lies about him.  They have surrounded him with words of hatred.  They have fought against him without cause.  In return for his friendship they have accused him.  then he writes, “But I am a man of prayer.”

David could have fought against these men.  He was a mighty warrior.  He could have judged them because he was the king.  But what did he choose to do instead?  He prayed.  David, the soldier and king, considered prayer his best defense against these enemies.  What a powerful model for us to live by!

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: When we are troubled, prayer is our best choice.

PRAYER: Dear heavenly Father, thank you so much for the privilege of prayer.  Regardless of our circumstances, help us to be people of prayer.  In your son’s name.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: MY ENEMIES

