Romans 12:9-16 (KJV)

9 Let love be without dissimulation. Abhor that which is evil; cleave to that which is good. 10 Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honor preferring one another; 11 Not slothful in business; fervent in spirit; serving the Lord; 12 Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer; 13 Distributing to the necessity of saints; given to hospitality. 14 Bless them which persecute you: bless , and curse not. 15 Rejoice with them that do rejoice , and weep with them that weep . 16 Be of the same mind one toward another . Mind not high things, but condescend to men of low estate. Be not wise in your own conceits.   

Romans 12:16 (KJV)

16 Be of the same mind one toward another . Mind not high things, but condescend to men of low estate. Be not wise in your own conceits.   

DEVOTION – Tara Regina Lyle (Mississippi)

My mom died when I was almost four, o my dad and great-grandmother raised my siblings and me.  Because of that particular loss, I always felt like an outcast at school.  But my outlook on life changed dramatically when I was in the sixth grade.  Until then, I had never met another student who had lost his or her mother.  I will always remember my response when I heard one of my classmates giving a report.  During her report, she mentioned that her mom had dies.  I tried to listen carefully and absorb what she was saying.  I remember how glad I was to know someone who had experienced the same type of loss that I had.  That single encounter changed the way I viewed my mother’s death.

I believe sometimes in our spiritual lives we want to find someone who feels the same way we do about God.  Whether at home, school, or work, we want to be understood.  Fellowship is a powerful tool that an be used to foster communications with others and to serve God.  I am grateful that God loves us enough to allow others to cross our path at just the right time.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God can use me today to help someone feeling alone or in need.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, thank you for allowing us to share our lives with others.  May our story lead others to you.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: SOMEONE WHO FELS ALONE

