James 5:13-20 (NRSV)

13 Are any among you suffering? They should pray. Are any cheerful? They should sing songs of praise. 14 Are any among you sick? They should call for the elders of the church and have them pray over them, anointing them with oil in the name of the Lord. 15 The prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise them up; and anyone who has committed sins will be forgiven. 16 Therefore confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another, so that you may be healed. The prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective. 17 Elijah was a human being like us, and he prayed fervently that it might not rain, and for three years and six months it did not rain on the earth. 18 Then he prayed again, and the heaven gave rain and the earth yielded its harvest. 19 My brothers and sisters,  if anyone among you wanders from the truth and is brought back by another, 20 you should know that whoever brings back a sinner from wandering will save the sinner’s  soul from death and will cover a multitude of sins.   

James 5:16 (NRSV)

16 Therefore confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another, so that you may be healed. The prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective.

DEVOTION -Komal Mashih (Uttar Pradesh, India)

Last year was a period of trials and tribulations for my family and me.  Even though I maintain a healthy lifestyle, I began to notice some negative changes in my health.  My wife and daughter urged me to see our family physician and seek medical help.  My doctor quickly diagnosed several problems:  high levels of sugar, urea, and creatinine in my blood, and an enlarged heart.  He informed me that these conditions could cause blindness, stroke, and heart attack at any time.

Treatment began right away with medication and a very strict diet.  But more importantly, I asked people to pray for me.  My family, our friends, church members, and people from far away prayed for me.  Indeed, my healing has become a powerful example of faith, even to friends of other faiths, including my physicians.  Some even wrote letters to say, “Your faith has helped to increase our faith.”  Praise the Lord!

A praying Christian community is a worshiping community.  When we pray together, we bring love, faith, hope, peace, and justice to the world.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Praying for one another is a powerful testimony of our faith.

PRAYER: Dear God, increase our faith and help us proclaim that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life we seek.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: PEOPLE WHO PRAY FOR ME.

