Psalm 139:5-10 (CEB)

5 You surround me—front and back. You put your hand on me. 6 That kind of knowledge is too much for me; it’s so high above me that I can’t fathom it. 7 Where could I go to get away from your spirit? Where could I go to escape your presence? 8 If I went up to heaven, you would be there. If I went down to the grave, you would be there too! 9 If I could fly on the wings of dawn, stopping to rest only on the far side of the ocean— 10 even there your hand would guide me; even there your strong hand would hold me tight!   

Matthew 15:14 (CEB)

14 Leave the Pharisees alone. They are blind people who are guides to blind people. But if a blind person leads another blind person, they will both fall into a ditch.”   

DEVOTION – Shadia Hrichi (California)

When my friends and I tried ballroom dancing, we knew our roles: the men lead and the women follow.  Growing up as an American Women, I believe women should never subject themselves to man’s dominance.  However, as I came to enjoy the complementary dance roles of leader and follower and considered how God desires to lead us, I realized to my detriment that I may have mistaken leading as dominance.

In ballroom dancing, the man’s purpose is to empower his partner to express beauty, elegance, and grace.  He surveys their surroundings, determines their course, and guides the woman by gently pressing his hand against her back.  I’ll never forget one partner who failed to keep his hand strong and purposeful.  I was constantly looking over my shoulder in fear we might crash.  However, with a partner who confidently took the lead – carful to guide and protect my steps – I felt safe and was free to enjoy the dance.

Likewise, God desires to lead us – not to dominate us.  Because we are made in God’s image, when we yield ourselves to God’s loving lead, we reflect God’s beauty and grace back onto a fearful, lost, and chaotic world.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God’s leading is strong and sure.

PRAYER: Dear Lord, teach us to follow your lead that we may guide others into the truth of your love.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: DANCERS

