Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”   

Galatians 6:2 (NIV)

2 Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.   

DEVOTION – Dorothea M. Love (California)

I used to be ashamed on my chronic illness.  I pretended that everything was fine, even on days when I couldn’t move and it was obvious that something was terribly wrong.  I was afraid to admit my need for help or to disclose that I had a disabling condition.

One day, my frustration with having to come up with yet another excuse over-whelmed me, and I started talking to others about my illness.  Even though I felt liberated, I feared that I would be shunned or criticized.  Instead, something wonderful happened; sharing my brokenness, neediness, and weakness caused those around me to open up about the challenging areas in their lives.  When I shared my trials with them, they responded compassionately, helping me to see evidence of god’s mercy, power, love, and grace in my life.

I realized that being honest about my hardships was a way of encouraging others in their own hardships.  And as they told me how God had helped them through times, my faith and hope grew stronger.  No matter what we are going through, letting others know how God is helping us and strengthening us will bless their lives in ways we can’t begin to imagine.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Sharing our brokenness can strengthen our faith.

PRAYER: Dear heavenly Father, help us to view our difficult situations as openings through which your glory can shine.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE SUFFERING FROM CHRONIC ILLNESS

