Psalm 138:1-8 (NRSV)

1 I give you thanks, O Lord, with my whole heart; before the gods I sing your praise; 2 I bow down toward your holy temple and give thanks to your name for your steadfast love and your faithfulness; for you have exalted your name and your word above everything.   3 On the day I called, you answered me, you increased my strength of soul.   4 All the kings of the earth shall praise you, O Lord, for they have heard the words of your mouth. 5 They shall sing of the ways of the Lord, for great is the glory of the Lord. 6 For though the Lord is high, he regards the lowly; but the haughty he perceives from far away. 7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve me against the wrath of my enemies; you stretch out your hand, and your right hand delivers me. 8 The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever. Do not forsake the work of your hands.   

Psalm 138:8 (NRSV)

8 The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever. Do not forsake the work of your hands.

DEVOTION: Beverly Taylor (Colorado)

I’ve never been a crossword puzzle enthusiast.  However, many of my friends complete them in ink!  Even so, after retirement I decided that challenging crosswords would keep my mind active.  A reluctant beginner, I discovered that my pencil’s eraser wears out long before the lead is gone, and using ink is simply out of the question.  Effortlessly, I enter what seems to be an absolutely correct word.  Other words fall into place, and I think I’m on a roll when suddenly my progress screeches to a halt.

This experience reminds me of an earlier time in my life when my husband and I, along with our church, believed God was leading us into full-time mission work.  Circumstances fell into place – at times almost effortlessly, at other times almost miraculously – confirming what we believed.  Later a situation shattered the plans, and our progress screeched to a halt.

Today, life is very different from the possibilities of 40 years ago.  But with the passing of time I can see that the convictions and faith we held then wee not foolhardy, reckless, or misguided; rather they were conscientious, diligent steps of deep-rooted faith.  Over the years, events had led us in a direction that I could not have anticipated.  With that same deep-rooted faith, I hold fast to the hope that “the Lord will fulfill his purpose for me.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: We can trust God no matter the circumstances.

PRAYER: O God, help us to trust your wisdom in everything.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: THOSE SERVING IN FULL-TIME MISSION WORK

