Luke 12:22-31 (NIV)

22 Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. 23 Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. 24 Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! 25 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life ? 26 Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? 27 “Consider how the lilies grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 28 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith!  29 And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. 30 For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them.  31 But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.   

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; 6 in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.   

DEVOTION -Sangeeta Saren(West Bengal, India)

Last year I was trying to pursue my post-graduate degree in social work.  After failing twice to qualify for our country’s best social-work college, I applied to another well-known college.  I easily cleared the first-round written test and group discussion, and I thought I performed reasonably well.  However, when the results were posted, I found my name on the waiting list and nor among the list of qualifiers.

My chances for admission were very slim.  But having great trust and confidence in God, I was waiting for a miracle.  It did not happen, and I returned home feeling dejected and heartbroken.

A few days later I got a phone call from the same institution, informing me that a seat had been vacated and I would be admitted to the program.  I could not believe what was happening.

Today I am in my third semester.  This experience taught me that we are always under God’s loving and watchful eyes.  I’ve learned on a personal level to trust God, patience, and remember that God is working for our good.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God can turn obstacles into opportunities of grace.

PRAYER: Almighty God, thank you for being with us when we need you the most.  In Jesus’ name we pray.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: STUDENTS STRUGGLING IN SCHOOL

