Psalm 16:5-8 (NIV)

5 LORD, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure. 6 The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance.  7 I will praise the LORD, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I have set the LORD always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.   

2 Corinthians 1:3-4 (NIV)

3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.   

DEVOTION – Camille Evans (Florida)

Toward the end of her life, my grandmother went into a nursing home.  I wanted to lift her spirits by finding a comforting Bible verse to send to her each week.  She was an amazing woman of faith, so I knew she would enjoy reading the verses.  Because I was new tot he Bible, I learned a lot as I searched for the right verses to encourage her.  Many of the uplifting verses I found were in the Book of Psalms (18:2; 46:1, 62:8); but I also looked for verses she might not know as well – such as Habakkuk 3:18-19 and Zephaniah 3:17.  I wrote the verses in a notebook so that I wouldn’t accidentally send the same verse twice.  I complied a list of 150 verses before my grandmother died.

Afterward, I bought a small journal, wrote the verses in it (one verse per page), and gave it to my mom, who suffers from depression.  I also made journals for my mother-in-law, sister and grandson.  Then my sister made one for me, which I carry in my purse.  I pull out my journal when I want a new verse to memorize or need a pick-me-up.  Through these journals, my family members have shared God’s comfort with one another.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: Whom could I help by sharing a favorite Bible verse?

PRAYER: Merciful God, help us turn toward your word for comfort and direction.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: NURSING HOME RESIDENTS

