2 Timothy 3:14-17 (CEB)

14 But you must continue with the things you have learned and found convincing. You know who taught you. 15 Since childhood you have known the holy scriptures that help you to be wise in a way that leads to salvation through faith that is in Christ Jesus. 16 Every scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for showing mistakes, for correcting, and for training character, 17 so that the person who belongs to God can be equipped to do everything that is good.   

Psalm 119:144 (CEB)

144 Your laws are righteous forever. Help me understand so I can live!   

DEVOTION -Karin Hust (California)

While considering a school for one of my children, I visited a Christian school near my home.  I walked into a second-grade classroom to observe, and the children excitedly stood together to sing a song and recite two Bible verses they had recently learned.  I enjoyed this very much, and I clapped for them and shook their hands to let them know how much I enjoyed being there.  When I turn to leave, one little girl walked me to the door and asked me, “Do you have any memory verses?”  I hesitated.  I did have one–just one.  I felt she probably knew it as well, so I asked her to say it with me.  She most happily obliged.

As I drove home, I found myself wishing for two things:  One, I wished I had memorized more verses from the Bible.  Many of us think of memorization as difficult and unnecessary, but “hiding God’s word in our hearts” (see Ps. 119:11) is one of the most rewarding things we cane ever do.  Two, I wished for a day when all of us would ask each other, “Do you have any memory verses?”  and then sit down and share what we have committed to memory from God’s word – not out of duty, but out of love for God’s gift to us,  the Bible.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: What Bible verse has sustained me?

PRAYER: Dear Father, thank you for giving us the power to think and to learn.  Teach us to be ready to share your truth in any circumstance.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: ELEMENTARY-SCHOOL CHILDREN

