Matthew 6:25-34 (CEB)

25 “Therefore, I say to you, don’t worry about your life, what you’ll eat or what you’ll drink, or about your body, what you’ll wear. Isn’t life more than food and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds in the sky. They don’t sow seed or harvest grain or gather crops into barns. Yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Aren’t you worth much more than they are? 27 Who among you by worrying can add a single moment to your life? 28 And why do you worry about clothes? Notice how the lilies in the field grow. They don’t wear themselves out with work, and they don’t spin cloth. 29 But I say to you that even Solomon in all of his splendor wasn’t dressed like one of these. 30 If God dresses grass in the field so beautifully, even though it’s alive today and tomorrow it’s thrown into the furnace, won’t God do much more for you, you people of weak faith? 31 Therefore, don’t worry and say, ‘What are we going to eat?’ or ‘What are we going to drink?’ or ‘What are we going to wear?’ 32 Gentiles long for all these things. Your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 Instead, desire first and foremost God’s kingdom and God’s righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore, stop worrying about tomorrow, because tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Jeremiah 17:7-8 (CEB)

7 Happy are those who trust in the LORD, who rely on the LORD. 8 They will be like trees planted by the streams, whose roots reach down to the water. They won’t fear drought when it comes; their leaves will remain green. They won’t be stressed in the time of drought or fail to bear fruit.

DEVOTION – Howard David Glawson (North Carolina)

Twenty-five years ago I was transferred to a group home some distance from my family and friends.  I had suffered from alcohol dependence and was diagnosed with schizophrenia.  I greatly needed the assistance of mental health professionals.

Each year, my mother takes me to visit my relatives.  on those occasions, I have grown to admire a lovely painting in aunt’s home.  It depicts a wide variety of colorful flowers.  The painting has drawn me to another understanding of my life by encouraging me to grow and develop wherever God has placed me, as these magnificent blossoms have grown where they were planted.  Jesus reminds us that the wild lilies of the field are not anxious about their role in life; they radiate with God’s purpose by being themselves.

I find satisfaction and great joy in the place where God has planted me.  I have not consumed alcohol in over 13 years.  I have developed loving relationships in the church I attend.  After several changes in treatment, my medication therapy has brought about successful results.  I want to be like one of the flowers in my aunt’s painting, planted in this lovely family of mental health residents.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: We can thrive where God has planted us.

PRAYER: Dear God, help us to find peace where we are, even in the midst of trauma.  Give us the power and grace to overcome mental illness and all obstacles to abundant life.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: MENTAL HEALTH PATIENTS

