Luke 6:37-42 (NIV)

37 “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.  38 Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”  39 He also told them this parable: “Can a blind man lead a blind man? Will they not both fall into a pit?  40 A student is not above his teacher, but everyone who is fully trained will be like his teacher.  41 “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? 42 How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when you yourself fail to see the plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

Luke 6:38 (NIV)

38 Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”   

DEVOTION – Alicia Yost (Connecticut)

In the town next to mine a giant fountain sits on the corner of a busy street.  It is surrounded by steps where passersby can stop to take a break from the sun and enjoy the cool mist that floats up out of the water and dances in the air.  The water spews forward, splashes down into a pool, then trickles sown to a shallower one from where it drains and eventually recycles.  People flock to it every day, enjoying the simple beauty of the fresh wellspring.

One day I drove past the fountain just as I happened to offer a prayer of thanks for everything in my life.  God gives to me generously, showering me with love, mercy and especially grace.  I am utterly dependent on God’s grace, yet I often find it hard to be graceful to others.

Seeing the cascading water reminded me that I should be willing to forgive continually, just as the water in that fountain flows continually to offer its refreshment.  God splashes down blessings on me, soaking me with love that I do not deserve.  God’s grace that constantly washes over me to allow it to flow through me to others.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: God gives us grace – more than enough to share.

PRAYER: Dear Father, forgive our unforgiving and condemning attitudes.  Open our hearts so that they overflow with your boundless love and generosity.  In Jesus’ name we pray.  Amen.

PRAYER FOCUS: GRATITUDE FOR GOD’S GRACIOUS ABUNDANCE

